• MySQL 5.1 Reference Manual :: 15 MySQL Enterprise Monitor :: 15.12 MySQL Enterprise Monitor Reference :: 15.12.9 Migrating 1.3.x Historical Data to MySQL Enterprise Monitor 2.0
  • 15.12.9. Migrating 1.3.x Historical Data to MySQL Enterprise Monitor 2.0

    You can migrate the data generated during a MySQL Enterprise Monitor 1.3.x installation using the Data Migration functionality of the Server Configuration panel.

    To use the data migration feature, you must have installed MySQL Enterprise Service Manager using an update installer. The update installer performs the initial migration of your configuration, rules, schedule, and events data. The historical data is not migrated until you explicitly request the migration of information within the Manage Servers section of the Settings panel.

    Data migration works on a single server, allowing you to select on which servers you want to migrate information. The migration is subject to the following:

    • You must elect to migrate the data from each server individually.

    • Migration takes approximately 5-6 hours, for each month, for each server. Therefore, if you have six months of data on 10 servers it could take between 300 and 360 hours (15 days) to migrate all of your historical data one server at a time.

    • To limit the data migration, set the Data Purge Behavior within the Settings page. Only data more recent than the specified purge period will be migrated. Data older than the purge period will be ignored.

    • To prevent performance issues, migrate only one or a small number of servers concurrently.

    • You can start and stop the migration of the data at any time. As a general guide, you should avoid stopping the data migration process and allow it to complete unless:

      • Run out of disk space.

      • MySQL Enterprise Service Manager becomes too slow and unresponsive.

      • Migration never completes.

      With the last item, where the migration never completes, occasionally there are some aspects of the data that cannot be migrated successfully. This will prevent the migration process completing, but does not affect the conversion of any data that could be migrated.

    Starting Historical Data Migration

    To start data migration:

    • Switch to the Manage Servers display of the Settings panel within MySQL Enterprise Dashboard.

    • Ensure that the data migration functionality has been enabled. The Start and Stop buttons next to Historical Data Migration will be visible.

      Figure 15.54. MySQL Enterprise Monitor: Historical Data Migration Availability

      MySQL Enterprise Monitor: Historical
              Data Migration Availability
    • Select the servers you want to migrate by using the checkbox next to each server name. You can select one or more servers to migrate. Servers that are suitable for migration will show their migration status within the Migration Status columnn. If the server is not able to be migrated, N/A will be shown.

    • Click Start next to Historical Data Migration.

    • You will be presented with a confirmation dialog box. To start the migration, click start migration. To cancel migration, click cancel.

    • The servers that have been selected for migration will show Queued for Migration in the Migration Status column.

      Figure 15.55. MySQL Enterprise Monitor: Confirming Historical Data Migration

      MySQL Enterprise Monitor: Confirming
              Historical Data Migration

    Monitoring Historical Data Migration

    You can check the migration status of any individual server by examining the Migration Status column for each server. You can see an example of the migration status below.

    Figure 15.56. MySQL Enterprise Monitor: Historical Data Migration Progress

    MySQL Enterprise Monitor: Historical Data
          Migration Progress

    Note that the migration status is shown according to the state of migration at the time the page was loaded. The actual migration continues in the background, and the current state may not match the state of the migration at the time it is viewed.

    Servers showing Done in the Migration Status column have already completed their migration.

    You can check the overall migration status by examining the Upgrade Status display.

    Stopping Historical Data Migration

    You can stop the migration process for any server that is still migrating data. The migration can be restarted at any time without causing any problems.

    To stop the historical data migration:

    1. Select the servers you want to stop migrating by using the checkbox next to each server name. You can select one or more servers to stop migrating.

    2. Click Stop next to Historical Data Migration.

    Confirmation that the migration has been stopped will be provided. If migration has already completed, you will be notified.

    Removing Old Data

    Once data migration has been completed for all the servers you want to migrate, you may want to delete or remove access to the old data within your MySQL Enterprise Monitor repository. Data for MySQL Enterprise Monitor 1.3 was stored in a database called merlin within the MySQL repository. Data for MySQL Enterprise Monitor 2.0 is stored within a database called mem.

    To create a backup of the old information, use mysqldump:

    shell> mysqldump -uservice_manager -pPassword -P13306 -h127.0.0.1 merlin >data-1.3.sql

    The above will create a file, data-1.3.sql containg all of the MySQL Enterprise Monitor 1.3 information.

    If you remove access to the old data, then the data migration options for old servers will be removed from the Manage Servers panel within MySQL Enterprise Service Manager. To remove access, you need to REVOKE access to the merlin database:

    mysql& REVOKE ALL on merlin.* FROM 'service_manager';

    Note that revoking access to the old data will not reclaim any of the disk space used by the old data.

    To delete the data from the database and free up the space being used by the historical information, DROP the merlin database:

    mysql& DROP DATABASE merlin;

    Once all the data has been migrated you can hide the migration user interface by clicking on the hide migration interface button.